Some note types such as Text, Code notes and even some of the Collections can be set to read-only. When a note is in read-only mode, it is presented to the user in a non-editable view, with the option to switch to editing mode if needed.

Automatic read-only mode

For optimization purposes, Trilium will automatically set very large notes to read-only. Displaying such lengthy notes in editing mode can slow down performance, especially when editing is unnecessary.

This behavior can be disabled on a per-note basis, by following the instructions of the next section.

In addition, it's possible to change the number of characters at which the automatic read-only mode will trigger in Options by going to the options for Text Notes and Code Notes.

Changing a note's read-only behavior

A note's read-only behavior can be changed via Note menu → Editable. The following options are possible:

If the Editable section is missing from the Note menu, then the note type does not support read-only mode.

Manually setting the options

Apart from using the Note menu as previously mentioned, it's also possible to use labels to change the behavior:

Temporarily editing a read-only note

When accessing a read-only note, it's possible to temporarily edit it pressing the Read-only badge.

When pressed, the note will become editable but will become read-only again after navigating to a different note.